Douglas County Historical Society, Museum, and Country School [SD]
The society's museum includes three buildings. The central building is located on the grounds of the Douglas County Courthouse in Armour and originally housed the offices of auditor and register of deeds in 1902. This building was placed on the National Register of Historic Sites in 1976; and exhibits museum collections including clothing, household items, farm tools, office equipment, American Indian artifacts, military items, photographs, and other memorabilia unique to the Douglas County area. In 1981, the Society moved an 1884 country school to county property just east of the museum. It still contains some of its original furnishings along with other school items. Each spring, all second graders in Douglas County are invited to attend "School Days" in the Country School. The third building, known as the "Railroad House," was added in 1988 and is furnished and decorated in the period of the early 1900s. Furnishings include items that were already owned by the museum, as well as items donated and loaned to complete decoration.
The museums offer exhibits and tours.